Skip to Main Content

Meet Our Professionals

Emily W. Zackon

Columbia | 803.253.6867
Fax | 803.255.8017

Emily Zackon is a public finance attorney in Parker Poe's Columbia office where she represents a range of governmental and corporate clients, including counties, municipalities, special purpose districts, school districts, charter schools, public and private colleges and universities and nonprofit organizations.

A large portion of Emily’s practice is focused on project finance, principally serving as bond and borrower’s counsel in connection with tax-exempt bond issuances. Emily has experience representing clients in connection with conduit bond issuances through the South Carolina Jobs-Economic Development Authority (JEDA), the Public Finance Authority, and the South Carolina State Housing Finance and Development Authority. Emily also has significant experience serving as bond and borrowers counsel in connection with low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC) transactions.

Emily also regularly serves as counsel to underwriters in tax-exempt bond transactions.

Emily’s practice is also focused on assisting governmental clients with leveraging the most effective financing tools to fund capital projects. She advises on the approval and implementation of sales and use taxes, tax increment financings, and general obligation bonds. Emily also regularly assists governmental clients with the negotiation and approval of fee-in-lieu of tax (FILOT) agreements and other property tax incentives.

Emily earned her law degree from the University of South Carolina. While there, she served as the associate editor-in-chief for the American Bar Association's Real Property, Trust and Estate Law Journal.

Loading content

Loading content

Honors & Awards

  • Leadership Columbia, Class of 2018


  • South Carolina Women's Affordable Housing Network (WAHN), Founding Member, Board Member, 2023-present
  • Zeta Tau Alpha, Collegiate Advisor, 2020-present
  • Junior League of Columbia, 2017-present
  • University of South Carolina School of Law Young Alumni Council, Founding Member, 2020-2023